RESOLUTION NO. 7879-R47 A RESOLUTION APPOINTING THE JUDGES THEREOF, AND DIRECTING THE PUBLICATION OF NOTICE FOR THE PRIMARY AND REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS FOR THE CITY OF URBANA, ILLINOIS BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF URBANA, ILLINOIS, as follows: Section 1. There shall be a primary election of officers of the City of Urbana, Champaign County, Illinois, on the 13th day of February, 1979, and a regular election of officers of the City of Urbana, Champaign County, Illinois, on the 3rd day of April, 1979. Section 2. At such election, there shall be elected a City Clerk who shall serve the balance of a four-year term beginning in 1977 and seven aldermen/alderwomen, each of which is to serve a four-year term. The ballot to be used in each such election shall be in the form prescribed by statute; and it shall be the duty of the Acting City Clerk to assure the preparation of a sufficient number of ballots for these elections, to cause a sample of such ballot to be published prior to the day of the election, and to provide the necessary election supplies for each voting ward. Section 3. For the purpose of the said elections, the City shall be divided into seven election wards. The boundaries of such wards shall be as designated and set forth in the document, entitled "Official Ward Map of the City of Urbana, Champaign County, Illinois", a copy of which said map was adopted and approved by the City Council in Ordinance No. 7879-42 on the 23rd day of October, 1978. The polling places for each ward, and the judges of election assigned to each ward shall be as hereinafter set forth in this ordinance. Section 4. The Acting City Clerk is hereby directed to cause notice of said elections in the form and within the dates prescribed by statute by publishing notice thereof once in the Champaign-Urbana Courier and the Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette,

each being a newspaper published in and having a general circulation within the City.

Section 5. The following named persons, each of whom is a citizen of the United States and is entitled to vote at the next election; is of good repute and character; is able to speak, read and write the English language; is skilled in the four fundamental rules of arithmetic; is of good understanding and is capable; is not a candidate for office at this election and is not an elected committeeman, and who resides in the ward in which he or she is selected to act, are hereby appointed judges of election for each such election in the wards shown as follows:

Ward 1: Dorothea Williamson
Jodi Gear
Lynn Stenstrom
Frances Hager
Ellen Ellsworth
Alternate: Michelle Miller

Ward 2: Harriett Runyon Vivian Hunter Ramona Smith Hurst Shoemaker Ester W. Shaw

Ward 3: Edith Webber
Wilma Jean Elsesser
Violet Wilkey
Joan Stahl
Dorothy Johnson
Alternates: Myron Feitshans
Anna Williams

Ward 4: Jean Gordon
Mildred J. Anderson
Jill Summers
Bernice Hulsizer
Eileen Sternberg
Alternates: John J. Meier
Frances Vliet
Frances Goglia

Ward 5: Ruth Glenn
Lois Hiltibran
Mary J. Leach
Marilyn Cox
Kim Manthei

Alternates: Jeanne Martin Evelyn Wells

Jane Betts
Maxine Johnston
Beulah B. Etchason

Gladys L. Smith

Ward 6: Bernadine Fitzgerald
Lodema Crist
Judy Simpson
Jane Gothard
Grace Kennedy
Alternates: Mary Iles
Jackie Thunney
Margie Holmes
Jewel Hill

Ward 7: Robert Crane
Annabell Ebert
Bernice Weipert
Nadine Sutton
Sophia Zeigler

Alternates: Lauretta H. Irle

Pamela Shaw Sharon Tiebout Gay Roberts

Alternates Any Ward: Elizabeth Dowd Woodson Iles Alberta Edwards Beulah Etchason Jane Betts Maxine Johnston Opal Thomas

Section 6. The ballot for each such election shall be in the manner and form as prescribed by law. Said election shall be held and conducted and the returns thereof duly canvassed in the manner and time as provided by law.

PASSED by the City Council this 5th Say

1979.

APPROVED by the Mayor this 9 day of Tu

1979.