26.4

A RESOLUTION DECLARING RESULTS OF ELECTION

WHEREAS, on the 5th day of April, 1977, there was held in and for the City of Urbana, Champaign County, Illinois, an election for the purpose of electing a Mayor, a City Clerk, a City Treasurer, and seven Aldermen/Alderwomen, each of whom is to serve a four-year term; and,

WHEREAS, the said election has been regularly called and held as provided by law, and the returns of said election, including the tally sheets, poll records, certificates of results, and other returns of said election have been filed with the City Clerk of the City of Urbana, and the returns are now before the City Council, and the said Council is familiar therewith;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF URBANA, ILLINOIS, as follows:

SECTION 1: That the election held on the 5th day of April, 1977, was held in all respects as provided by law. Notice of said election was given by publishing the notice once, on March 15, 1977, in both the Champaign-Urbana Courier and the Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette, which newspapers have general circulation within the City of Urbana, and which date was not more than thirty days nor less than fifteen days in advance of the date of said election. The judges appointed by this City Council were duly qualified to fill such offices in each of the wards, and were duly sworn to perform their duties before the commencement of the said election. The returns of said election have been duly canvassed by said judges and were filed with the City Clerk of the City of Urbana.

SECTION 2: The City Council finds from a canvass of the returns of said election that the following votes were cast in each of the said wards in favor of the following persons at said election:

First Ward

(a) FOR MAIOR	(a)	FOR	MAYOR:	
---------------	-----	-----	--------	--

Jeffrey T. Markland	125
Hiram Paley	310
Norman Bagby	8

(b) FOR	CITY	CLERK:	
---------	------	--------	--

۰.

, **'**

Duane Eckerty 300

(c) FOR CITY TREASURER:

Linda M.	Bruene	157
Marion S.	. Holshouser	242

(d) FOR ALDERMAN:

Frank B. Kuntz	164
Thomas J. Edstrom	203
Mark Charles Stevens	70

Second Ward

103

(a)	FOR MAYOR:
	Jeffrey T. Markland Hiram Paley

Hiram Paley	292
Norman Bagby	22

- (b) FOR CITY CLERK:Duane Eckerty 258
- (c) FOR CITY TREASURER: Linda M. Bruene 141 Marion S. Holshouser 228

(d) FOR ALDERMAN/ALDERWOMAN:

Patricia Walle	103
John A. Peterson	310

Third Ward

(a)	FOR MAYOR:	
	Jeffrey T. Markland Hiram Paley Norman Bagby	219 224 111

(b) FOR CITY CLERK:Duane Eckerty 325

(c) FOR CITY TREASURER:

Linda M. Bruene	167
Marion S. Holshouser	303

(d) FOR ALDERMAN/ALDERWOMAN:

Gary L.	Hawk		180
Frieda	Irene	Wascher	336

.

· • •

	FOULCH WALL	
(a)	FOR MAYOR:	
	Jeffrey T. Markland Hiram Paley Norman Bagby	621 696 94
(b)	FOR CITY CLERK:	
	Duane Eckerty	944
(c)	FOR CITY TREASURER:	
	Linda M. Bruene Marion S. Holshouser	561 761
(d)	FOR ALDERMAN:	
	Keith Randall Erickson Donald H. Wort	601 745
	Fifth Ward	
(a)	FOR MAYOR:	
	Jeffrey T. Markland Hiram Paley Norman Bagby	564 182 327
(b)	FOR CITY CLERK:	
	Duane Eckerty	858
(c)	FOR CITY TREASURER:	
	Linda M. Bruene Marion S. Holshouser	533 447
(d)	FOR ALDERMAN:	
	William H. Scott Tom Cheverud	519 542
	Sixth Ward	
(a)	FOR MAYOR:	
	Jeffrey T. Markland Hiram Paley Norman Bagby	941 265 307
(b)	FOR CITY CLERK:	
	Duane Eckerty	1,285
(c)	FOR CITY TREASURER:	
	Linda M. Bruene Marion S. Holshouser	842 556
(d)	FOR ALDERMAN:	
	Robert V. Johnson Robert G. Ziegler	908 545

Seventh Ward

Ę.,

· · ·

(a)	FOR MAYOR:	
	Jeffrey T. Markland Hiram Paley Norman Bagby	898 516 68
(b)	FOR CITY CLERK:	
	Duane Eckerty	1,108
(c)	FOR CITY TREASURER:	
	Linda M. Bruene Marion S. Holshouser	683 726
(d)	FOR ALDERMAN/ALDERWOMAN:	
	John E. Maloney Shirley B. Brooks	774 678

SECTION 3: The City Council finds that the following named persons received the number of votes set opposite their names for the following offices:

(a)	FOR MAYOR:	
	Jeffrey T. Markland Hiram Paley Norman Bagby	3,471 2,485 937

(b) FOR CITY CLERK: Duane Eckerty 5,078

(c)	FOR CITY TREASURER:	
	Linda M. Bruene Marion S. Holshouser	3,084 3,263

SECTION 4: The City Council finds from a canvass of the returns from said election that the following total number of votes was cast in each of the said wards, and that there were the following total number of blank, spoiled and defective ballots in each ward:

WARD	TOTAL NUMBER OF VOTES CAST	BLANK, SPOILED AND DEFECTIVE BALLOTS
1 2 3	452 431 585	0 4 4
5 4 5 6	1,440 1,090 1,534	11 12 9
7	1,510	13
TOTAL	7,042	53

THEREFORE, THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF URBANA, CHAMPAIGN COUNTY, ILLINOIS, HEREBY PROCLAIMS AND DECLARES:

JEFFREY T. MARKLAND to be elected as Mayor of the City of Urbana for a term of four years;

DUANE ECKERTY to be elected as City Clerk of the City of Urbana for a term of four years;

MARION S. HOLSHOUSER to be elected as City Treasurer of the City of Urbana for a term of four years;

THOMAS J. EDSTROM to be elected as Alderman in the First Ward of the City of Urbana for a term of four years;

JOHN A. PETERSON to be elected as Alderman in the Second Ward of the City of Urbana for a term of four years;

FRIEDA IRENE WASCHER to be elected as Alderwoman in the Third Ward of the City of Urbana for a term of four years;

DONALD H. WORT to be elected as Alderman in the Fourth Ward of the City of Urbana for a term of four years;

TOM CHEVERUD to be elected as Alderman in the Fifth Ward of the City of Urbana for a term of four years;

ROBERT V. JOHNSON to be elected as Alderman in the Sixth Ward of the City of Urbana for a term of four years; and

JOHN E. MALONEY to be elected as Alderman in the Seventh Ward of the City of Urbana for a term of four years.

PASSED by the City Council of the City of Urbana, Illinois, this 18th day of April, 1977.

this 25 day of April, 1977.

7677-R61 Pg. 5

- 5 -