#### **ORDINANCE NO. 2024-10-034**

# AN ORDINANCE FIXING THE SALARIES OF CITY OFFICERS WHO ARE ELECTED FOR A DEFINITE TERM OF OFFICE (2025-2029)

**WHEREAS**, the City of Urbana ("City") is an Illinois home rule unit of local government pursuant to Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution of 1970 and may exercise any power and perform any function pertaining to its government and affairs, including the power to regulate for the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare; and

**WHEREAS**, the corporate authorities of a municipality may, in an ordinance, fix the salaries of all officers who hold elective office for a definite term in accordance with 65 ILCS 5/3.1-50-10; and

**WHEREAS**, the Mayor, City Clerk, and Alderpersons of the City of Urbana are all elected for definite terms; and

**WHEREAS**, from time to time, the City of Urbana elects to adjust the salaries of its elected officers by ordinance and must do so within a specific, statutory timeframe.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED** by the City Council of the City of Urbana, Champaign County, Illinois, as follows:

### Section 1.

The annual (12-month) salary of the following City officers who are to be elected for a definite term beginning in May 2025, shall be and the same are hereby established for that and subsequent terms of office, as follows:

| Office      | May 1, 2025<br>April 30, 2026 |        | May 1, 2026<br>April 30, 2027 |        | May 1, 2027<br>April 30, 2028 |        | May 1, 2028<br>April 30, 2029 |        |
|-------------|-------------------------------|--------|-------------------------------|--------|-------------------------------|--------|-------------------------------|--------|
|             |                               |        |                               |        |                               |        |                               |        |
| Mayor       | \$                            | 85,000 | \$                            | 87,550 | \$                            | 90,176 | \$                            | 92,881 |
| City Clerk  | \$                            | 71,000 | \$                            | 73,130 | \$                            | 75,324 | \$                            | 77,584 |
| Alderperson | \$                            | 7,175  | \$                            | 7,354  | \$                            | 7,538  | \$                            | 7,727  |

#### Section 2.

The Mayor and the City Clerk shall be entitled to participate in the City's health insurance program and any other bonus plans in the same manner as full-time City employees.

## Section 3.

The Mayor and the City Clerk shall be entitled to participate in the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund in such manner as permitted by law concerning compensated public officials (40 ILCS 5/7-101 *et seq.*).

PASSED BY THE CITY COUNCIL this 28th day of October, 2024.

AYES: Wu, Evans, Hursey, Kolisetty, Wilken, Quisenberry NAYS: None. ABSTENTIONS: None.



DocuSigned by: Janury E. Samdefur

Darcy E. Sandefur, City Clerk

**APPROVED BY THE MAYOR** this 30th day of October, 2024.

DocuSigned by: Diane Wolfe Marlin -0FB8B8E5B1B94C5...

Diane Wolfe Marlin, Mayor