## ORDINANCE NO. 8889-39

## AN ORDINANCE AMENDING SECTION 25-34 OF THE URBANA CITY CODE WITH RESPECT TO THE TREE COMMISSION

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF URBANA, ILLINOIS, as follows:

That Section 25-34, entitled "Composition", of Division II, entitled "Tree Commission", of Article II, entitled "Trees, Plants and Shrubs", of Chapter 25, entitled "Vegetation", of the Code of Ordinances, City of Urbana, Illinois, be and the same is hereby further amended to provide as follows:

Sec. 25-34. Composition.

The tree commission shall be composed of ten (10) commissioners. Seven (7) commissioners shall be appointed by the mayor with the approval of the council. These seven (7) commissioners, of which four (4) shall be selected on the basis of their expertise in a field related to plants and trees, and the remaining three (3) who shall be knowledgeable in other areas to provide additional perspectives, shall serve without pay and shall reside within the city. The remaining three (3) commissioners shall be ex officio and shall not vote. The three (3) ex officio commissioners shall be: the director of public works, the director of parks and recreation of the park district or his/her representative, and the arborist.

This ordinance is hereby passed by the afficientive vote, the "ayes" and "nays" being called, of a majority of the members of the Council of the City of Urbana, Illinois, at a regular meeting of said council.

PASSED by the City Council this 1911 day of December:

1988.

APPROVED by the Mayor this 21st day of

1988.